top of page

Buzz! - Time's Up!


It's 5:45am. My phone alerts me that school is closed.

Immediately I want to roll over and sleep, but find myself wide awake, and mind spinning with all the things I can accomplish.

"Oh, my house will be so clean, I'll even fold that massive laundry mound, clean out the closets, under the sinks - oh this is going to be a great day! AND when all that's done, I can focus on writing my blogs, preparing for my webinar - that was the best text ever!"

6am - God time... At 7am I emerge from the shower - where will I start?

Check facebook, play a couple of games, visit with my kid, check on my college boy - I have the whole day anyway. Tons of time to do stuff! Check on my Dad, shovel the stoop, make dinner plans...spend an hour or two at the office, then more office work from home...

3pm. Oh, nuts. My day is gone. Why start now? Prep dinner... Cat Litter! That's something that won't take long! And I can throw in a load of laundry...

7pm. I'm running out of time.

8pm. I have less time than before.

9pm. Where has the day gone?

10:30pm - no school tomorrow either... hmmmm...

How will tomorrow be different than today?

How will I redeem the time? So, today I did something that might work for you, too! Sticky Note Planning - for those who know me, I have a deep infatuation with Sticky Notes - today it's the 2x2's. I wrote all of my to do list on Sticky Notes and assigned them time allotments.

Dishes - 20 minutes

Vaccuum - 10 minutes

Litter box - 5 minutes

Clean stove top - 10 minutes

And for the bigger unending tasks, I put time 'limits'.

Laundry Room - 20 min

Laundry Room - 20 min

Laundry Room - 20 min... I probably need 80 of these - but I'll start with three...

Whenever I sit with idle hands, I will decide if I have 5, 10-15, or 20 minutes to accomplish the next thing.

My goal is not that everything will be done, but that at the end of the day, I will feel I have accomplished something.

How do you manage your chore list? Share below!


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page